Turkey's local elections conclude: Polling stations close nationwide

Polling stations across Turkey closed on Sunday, marking the end of the country's local elections as the voting wrapped up at 5 p.m.

Publication: 31.03.2024 - 17:56
Turkey's local elections conclude: Polling stations close nationwide
Abone Ol google-news

A total of 34 political parties entered the race, competing in elections that saw more than 206,000 polling stations set up nationwide.

Residents of Turkey's major cities, including the capital Ankara, Istanbul, and Izmir — the nation’s three largest cities by population — along with Adana, Antalya, Aydin, Balikesir, Bursa, Denizli, Diyarbakir, Erzurum, Eskisehir, Gaziantep, Hatay, Kahramanmaras, Kayseri, Kocaeli, Konya, Malatya, Manisa, Mardin, Mersin, Mugla, Ordu, Sakarya, Samsun, Sanliurfa, Tekirdag, Trabzon, and Van, cast their votes for metropolitan municipality mayor, municipality mayor, city council members, as well as mukhtars and elder councils.

Political Parties in the Fray

The elections saw major participation from the ruling Justice and Development (AK) Party, the principal opposition Republican People's Party (CHP), the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP), the Good (IYI) Party, and the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP).

Additionally, other political entities included the Left Party, Great Unity Party, Homeland Party, Motherland Party, Democratic Left Party, Welfare Party, Communist Party of Turkey, Anatolian Union Party, Victory Party, Peoples' Liberation Party, Communist Movement of Turkey, Independent Turkey Party, Future Party, New Turkey Party, Labor Party, Free Cause Party, Rights and Freedoms Party, Ocak Party, Justice Union Party, Democrat Party, Power Union Party, National Path Party, Justice Party, Bright Democracy Party, Turkey Workers' Party, Democracy and Progress Party, Felicity Party, and Homeland Party, showcasing the diverse political landscape of Turkey.

Most Read News