Tennis classic Wimbledon starts tomorrow

The main table matches of Wimbledon, the third grand slam tournament of the season in tennis, will start tomorrow in London, Britian.

Publication: 30.06.2024 - 12:50
Tennis classic Wimbledon starts tomorrow
Abone Ol google-news

Wimbledon, one of the four most important tournaments of the tennis season with the Australian Open, French Open (Roland Garros) and US Open, will be organized between July 1-14 this year.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club in London will host the matches of Wimbledon, which was first organized in 1877, for the 137th time.

Prize money at Wimbledon reached the highest level in the history of the organization with a total of 50 million pounds sterling. The singles champions of the tournament will win 2.7 million pounds each in prize money.

Djokovic's decision will decide the balance

Djokovic, who tore the meniscus in his right knee at the French Open and underwent surgery on June 5, will be of great importance for both himself and his opponents.

The Serbian tennis player, who arrived in London and practiced with world No. 1 Italian Jannik Sinner on the Center Court on Thursday, also participated in the draw on Friday.

The 37-year-old Djokovic, who has won 4 of the finals he has played in the tournament in the last 5 years, will be the sole owner of the title of "the tennis player who has won the most grand slam tournaments in history", leaving Margaret Court behind if he reaches the 25th victory of his career on July 14.

The Serbian tennis player will also tie Roger Federer's record for the most Wimbledon titles by a male tennis player with 8.

If Djokovic withdraws from the tournament before the first day's schedule is announced, according to the rules, Russian Daniil Medvedev, seeded No. 5, will replace the Serbian and Canadian Felix Auger-Aliassime, seeded No. 17, will replace Medvedev.

If the Serbian racket withdraws from the tournament after the first day's program is announced, one of the lucky losers of the qualifiers will take his place.

In the men's singles draw, No. 1 seed Jannik Sinner, defending champion Carlos Alcaraz (3), Russian Daniil Medvedev (5), Norwegian Casper Ruud (8) are in one half of the main draw; Djokovic (2), German Alexander Zverev (4), Russian Andrey Rublev (6), Polish Hubert Hurkacz (8) are in the other half.

Swiatek aims for first title on Center Court

Poland's Iga Swiatek, who has finished the last two years as world No. 1 in women's singles, will take to the court in southwest London for her first grand slam tournament and the sixth of her career.

The 23-year-old Swiatek, whose game is weak on grass, has so far failed to perform at Wimbledon after Roland Garros, where she has been champion for the last three years. The Polish tennis player has reached the quarterfinals at most in the tournament.

In Wimbledon, where different names have won the last 7 finals, Tunisian Ons Jabeur (10), the finalist of the last two years, world number 2 Coco Gauff of the USA, who played the semifinals in the last two grand slam tournaments and lost the championship (Sabalenka and Swiatek), and Belarusian Aryna Sabalenka, who started this year with the Australian Open title as she did last year, are other prominent names for the championship.

In the main draw, Iga Swiatek (1), Elena Rybakina (4), Jessica Pegula (5) and defending champion Marketa Vondrousova (6) are in the top half; Coco Gauff (2), Aryna Sabalenka (3), Jasmine Paolini (7) and Qinwen Zheng (8) are in the bottom half.

Nadal opted for the Olympics

Spanish tennis player Nadal, who only participated in the French Open in the last 5 grand slam tournaments due to injury and said goodbye to Paris in the first round, decided not to participate in Wimbledon.

The 38-year-old Nadal, who has 22 grand slam titles in his career, noted that he will compete in the Paris 2024 Olympics and that it will be better for his performance to continue his preparations on clay.
Federer and Navratilova won the most

At Wimbledon, Switzerland's Roger Federer holds the record with 8 titles in men's singles and Martina Navratilova of the USA holds the record with 9 titles in women's singles.

The most winning players in singles are as follows:


Roger Federer (Switzerland) - 8 times

William Renshaw (Great Britain) - 7

Pete Sampras (USA) - 7

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) - 7


Martina Navratilova (USA) - 9

Helen Wills Moody (USA) - 8

Steffi Graf (Germany) - 7

Serena Williams (USA) - 7

Dorothea Lambert Chambers (UK) - 7

Winners of the last 10 years


2013 - Andy Murray (Great Britain)

2014 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2015 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2016 - Andy Murray (Great Britain)

2017 - Roger Federer (Switzerland)

2018 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2019 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2021 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2022 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

2023 - Carlos Alcaraz (Spain)


2013 - Marion Bartoli (France)

2014 - Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic)

2015 - Serena Williams (USA)

2016 - Serena Williams (USA)

2017 - Garbine Muguruza (Spain)

2018 - Angelique Kerber (Germany)

2019 - Simona Halep (Romania)

2021 - Ashleigh Barty (Australia)

2022 - Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan)

2023 - Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Republic)

Most Read News